TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — New laws take effect Oct. 1 in Florida, impacting state residents. A total of 27 new laws go in to effect.
However, the biggest is a provision of a law that already went into effect: holding a phone or other device while driving.
State lawmakers passed a law that made texting while driving a primary offense in Florida. That law went into effect in July. But starting Tuesday, a provision of the law goes into effect that requires drivers to be "hands-free" in certain areas. If you are spotted holding a phone, whether that be talking on it, flipping through emails, playing Pokemon Go or anything else, police can pull you over and cite you if you are driving in a school or work zone.
Up next, especially for college students, a new hazing law comes into effect.
Senate Bill 1080 will target people who plan acts of hazing or recruit others to help - if there is a permanent injury during the hazing, that will now be a third degree felony.
Reporting a hazing incident will get you immunity under the new law.
Police dogs and horses are getting some added protection in a new law taking effect tomorrow.
Anyone killing or severely injuring a police horse or dog will now face a potential of 15 years in prison.
That is a 10 year increase over the current law.
Among the laws going into effect: